Future Concerts

All concerts at The Forum Theatre, Malvern WR14 3HB unless otherwise stated.

Sunday 17 November 2019 • 7:30pm

Conductor: Michael Lloyd

Berlioz Overture: Les Francs-Juges
Prokofiev Violin Concerto No. 2
 (soloist: Roberto Ruisi)
Berlioz Symphonie Fantastique

For the final concert of the 2019 season Chandos is again looking forward to welcoming back another of our previous Young Musician winners.  Roberto, who is already making a name for himself, will be playing the Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No. 2.  Written for a first performance in Spain, there is a real Spanish feel (complete with castanets!) to the finale.

The evening begins and ends, however, with the music of Berlioz.  The overture for his early unfinished opera Les Francs Juges is the only main section that he didn’t destroy, and it is the earliest of his compositions still in the repertoire.  By contrast the Symphonie Fantastique is one of his best known works.  This is music of wild imagination depicting unrequited love, a ball, a rural scene with distant thunder and nightmarish visions of a March to the Scaffold and a Witches Sabbath. A remarkable work, this piece certainly lives up to its name!

Sunday 15 March 2020 • 7:30pm

Conductor: Michael Lloyd

Brahms Variations on a theme by Haydn
Britten Quatre chansons française
 (soloist: Alison Roddy)
Mahler Symphony No. 4
 (soloist: Alison Roddy)


Sunday 13 September 2020 • 7:30pm

Conductor: Richard Laing

Rachmaninov Symphonic Dances
Shostakovich Symphony No. 10


Sunday 15 November 2020 • 7:30pm

Conductor: Michael Lloyd

Rimsky-Korsakov Overture: The Tsar’s Bride
Brahms Concerto for Violin and Violoncello
 (soloists: Daniel Rowland
and David Cohen)
Bartok Concerto for Orchestra